Affordable DUI

Our attorneys are among the most respected DUI Defense Attorneys in the State of Pennsylvania

Driving Under the Influence (D.U.I.) is a serious offense that can not only interfere with your work and driving privileges, but also take a significant toll on your pocketbook, and even lead to house arrest or incarceration on a first offense. Needless to say, it shouldn't be taken lightly. A knowledgeable attorney that understands the process and the intricacies and workings of the various counties and courts in the area can make a big difference in your outcome.

We started handling D.U.I. defense cases as the requests from previous work comp and personal injury clients became more and more numerous. Today, Lackawanna and Luzerne counties have some of the highest D.U.I. rates in the Commonwealth. We are well-versed in handling D.U.I. cases throughout Northeastern PA while providing the expertise and discretion you expect and deserve, all without breaking the bank. Experienced representation is a must.

3-TIER DUI SYSTEM

Pennsylvania has a 3-tiered system for dealing with DUIs. The tiers are distinguished by blood alcohol content (BAC), as follows:

  1. BAC of .08% to .099%
  2. BAC of .10% to .159%
  3. BAC of .16% and above

The higher the blood alcohol, the greater the punishment. There are also different penalties for first, second, third offense, and subsequent DUIs.

All first offense DUI charges in Pennsylvania are considered ungraded misdemeanors.

PA DUI with BAC between .08% and .099%

DUI Offense BAC .08-.099% Penalty
1st Offense
  • Probation no longer than 6 months;
  • $300 fine;
  • Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School; and
  • Comply with the Drug and Alcohol treatment requirements
2nd Offense
  • Mandatory 5 days in jail, but may be up to 60 days;
  • Fine between $300 and $2,500;
  • Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School;
  • Loss of License for 1 year;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment
3rd Offense
  • Mandatory 10 days in jail, but may be up to 2 years;
  • Fine between $500 and $5,000;
  • Loss of License for 1 year;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment

PA DUI w/BAC between .10% and .159% or Injury

If your DUI charge includes:

  • a BAC between .10% and .159%, or
  • involved in an accident resulting in bodily injury, serious bodily injury or death of any person or in damage to a vehicle or other property are as follows:
DUI Offense Penalty BAC .1 - .159%
1st Offense
  • Mandatory 48 hours in jail, but may be up to 6 months;
  • Fine between $500 and $5,000;
  • Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School;
  • Loss of License for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment
2nd Offense
  • Mandatory 30 days in jail, but may be up to 6 months;
  • Fine between $750 and $5,000;
  • Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School;
  • Loss of License for 1 year;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment
3rd Offense
  • Mandatory 90 days in jail, but may be up to 5 years;
  • Fine between $1,500 and $10,000;
  • Loss of License for 18 months;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment
4th Offense
  • Mandatory 1 year in jail, but may be up to 5 years;
  • Fine between $1,500 and $10,000;
  • Loss of License for 18 months;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment

PA BUI with BAC of .16% or Over

as follows:

Offense Penalty over .159% BAC
1st Offense
  • Mandatory 72 hours in jail, but may be up to 6 months;
  • Fine between $1,000 and $5,000;
  • Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School;
  • Loss of License for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment
2nd Offense
  • Mandatory 90 days in jail, but may be up to 5 years;
  • Fine between $1,500 and $10,000;
  • Attend Alcohol Highway Safety School;
  • Loss of License for 18 months;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment
3rd Offense
  • Mandatory 1 year in jail, but may be up to 5 years;
  • Fine $2,500 to $10,000
  • Loss of License for 18 months;
  • Ignition Interlock system in car for 1 year;
  • Full Drug and Alcohol assessment

Under Pennsylvania law, prior DUI offenses, for purposes of determining whether the person is a multiple offender, are calculated as occurring within the previous 10-year period.

View DUI Representation FAQ's »

Let Us Review Your Case:

Full Name:
 

Email Address:
   

Phone:
 

Briefly describe your legal issue:

Main Office:
Steppacher Law
224 Adams Avenue
Courthouse Square
Scranton PA 18503